Your Appearance Is Not Your Life

For a long time I had a problem with accepting my appearance. I couldn’t shake the fact that I didn’t look good enough forever. See I’m a PK (pastor ‘s kid) and back in the day tradition meant everything to the church. So to make a long story short…I wore skirts all the time. So that alone didn’t help with me trying to accept my self and my appearance. Even when our church began to changed for the better and we started to wear pants, I still couldn’t shake that feeling.I always felt like I needed to look a certain way or do a certain thing to fit in. I was so concern on the wrong things, like my appearance instead of the important things like school and loving myself first. Once I started doing that I began to accept myself for who God made me. And as I did that I was able to open up and let someone else love me for who I really am flaws and all. He loves me for me ,Chelsie OlIvia Gardner for the way God made me to the name my mom gave me he loves it all. And to me that is more important than just your appearance, its not your life. So start living it by accepting that God did not make a mistake when he decide to give you life. Your on this world for a purpose but in order to discover that purpose you must embraced who God made you. Your appearance doesn’t make you,you make your appearance.

18 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

18 responses to “Your Appearance Is Not Your Life

  1. Amen! Great post. I use to feel a similar way about myself. My self confidence was non-existent so I felt like I had to act a certain way just to fit in. I didn’t even try to dress well because I thought nothing could look right on a person so ugly. But, then I found out about who God really was and the love that He had for me. He took me as I was and is making me into who He needs me to be. I quickly realized that I’m not the clothes I wear or the shoes I buy or the house I live in. But my identity is found in Christ. Now, I’m proud of who I am and I love how God made me. I am perfect because He is in me and He is perfect!

  2. Aunt Neet

    When you’re that young and you don’t have any say so about what you can wear, it can be tough because you want friends. But on the other hand, when there are no boundaries set for you, you could end up learning the hard way what is best even when it comes down to your appearance. Look around at others who seemingly don’t care how their hair looks, how they smell, how they communicate. There should be a balance to it all. I personally love your unique style of dress. No one can do you like you do you. Remember people will always have an opinion but that doesn’t mean that how they feel about it is right for you.

  3. Lesteen

    Hello Chelsie, Very good point. As a young adult it is hard to fit in, your thought is great. Please pass it on to other young adults.

  4. Lesteen

    Hello Chelsie, I m in agreement with your statementt. Continue to share your thoughts with oher young aduls. Great blog.

  5. SheaAaron Burns

    So you know all I have to say is O.K.!! LOL Chelsie I love that you feel confident enough to express how you use to feel and think. As you know I had the same issue and there are many girls out there like us. Keep being that light for others! Love you girlie!

  6. TThom

    I enjoyed reading this. You are right about the appearance not making the person. Just keep focused on what’s important.

  7. Danielle R.

    Great job! You really hit the nail on the head with this. Most people, young and old concentrate more on appearance than inner beauty and eternal life. Appearance is important to a certain extent. Being presentable is different from overindulging yourself in what society’s view of beauty is. I will be sure to share this blog with others!

  8. Trini

    This is a great topic Chelsie. There are so many people that feel the same way but didn’t know how to address it. I was one. My issue wasn’t as much my clothes as it was my size. It took a long time for me to love me and realize that most of the things I wasn’t happy with myself about I could actually change. Still working on some things but as my relationship with God grows I’m loving the me he made more everyday.

  9. Dax's Mama

    I completely agree when you say “Your appearance doesn’t make you,you make your appearance”. It reminds me of times when you may meet someone and think they are so pretty then you get to know them and realize their interior doesn’t match their exterior. They don’t exhibit any fruits of the spirit and your heart aches for them. Not that you exhibit perfection yourself, but that so much effort seems to be put into making the outside beautiful while they have not allowed God to work on their inside at all. It is so great that you realize at such a young age that God made you beautiful just as you are!!

  10. Erika Bazemore-Gardner

    Hi Chelsie,

    I agree with your post. I felt the same way when I was a teenager. I am proud that your are able to talk about your thoughts and feelings and able tCaro have acceptance.

    Take Care,

    Erika Bazemore-Gardner

  11. E. Lorraine.Gardner

    When people begin to see through God’s eyes, they will then recognize that appearance is not about what you see or the portrait that one paints for the world to see. Beauty is only skin deep, but true beauty is.expressed through the soul. Oneness with Christ creates a beautiful spirit and a peace within ones soul. I agree Chelsie, once a person understands that they were designed with purpose by the chief architect and embraces their calling in life,.and their.true beauty is shown forth.

  12. E. Lorraine Gardner

    A pretty face and an ugly spirit and attitude. Now that’s a mess. So many people have a twisted.

  13. Hurley Mathis

    Chelsie, I felt that way also when I was and even enter into adulthood, until I met the lady of my life She always tell me how handsome I am size and all. So you just keep that positive attitude.

  14. E. Lorraine.Gardner

    When people begin to see through God’s eyes, they will then recognize that appearance is not about what you see or the portrait that one paints for the world to see. Beauty is only skin deep, but true beauty is.expressed through the soul. Oneness with Christ creates a beautiful spirit and a peace within ones soul. I agree Chelsie, once a person understands that they were designed with purpose by the chief architect and embraces their calling in life,.and their.true beauty is shown forth.

  15. Scott Isaiah

    *thumbs up*….good point…

  16. Barbara Alexander

    I think we all have had similar feelings at some point in our lives. I thank God that you began to see yourself for who God says you are “fearfully and wonderfully made”, by the way I always felt that you were beautiful.

Leave a Reply

